[ go to homepage ]
[ what's new - editorials, calendar, to-do list, news articles, mailbag and archives ]
[ animé café contest information ]
[ episode-by-episode anime reviews, how we review ]
[ a parent's guide to anime, title list, titles by category ]
[ the anime encyclopædia ]
[ café trivia - anime trivia ]
[ anime humour, the laws of anime, light articles, etc ]
[ serious articles, essays, anime guides, etc. ]
[ message forum for the discussion of anime, manga, reviews, etc. ]
[ faq about the café and contributors, awards given to the café, etc. ]
[ feedback forms, error reports, or e-mail the café ]
[ links to other resources on the internet ]
[ site map ]


[ the anime encyclopædia ]


vhs jacket

Tenchi Muyo!
TV Episode 9: No Need For Memories!

© 1997 AIC, Tenchi Muyo Committee, Pioneer LDC

Color / Stereo Surround / 22 minutes / Japanese Language / English Subtitles


Unlike the slap-stick comedy we've seen so far in this series, this is one episode that works on your emotions. On the other hand, there's a lot of "foreshadowing" information that's contained in this episode, such as the revival of Ryu-Oh and the special swordmanship kept in the royal family of Jurai, all of which will fully unravel in the next CHAPTER: SPACE. Another point of interest in this episode is the performance by Mr. Taekshi Aono playing both Katsuhito (Grandpa) and Nobuyuki (Dad). You could admire it as something only a seasoned and talented voice actor like him can accomplish. Of course, if you wish to admire the visual aspect of Nouyuki's assitant Reiko at the same time, by all means...

cast list

Masaki Tenchi: Kikuchi Masami
Ryoko: Orikasa Ai
Ayeka: Takada Yumi
Masaki Nobuyuki: Aono Takeshi
Masaki Katsuhito: Aono Takeshi
Mihoshi: Mizutani Yuko
Kiyone: Amano Yuri
Sasami: Yokoyama Chisa
Washu: Kobayashi Yuko
Ryo-ohki: Kozakura Etsuko
Azaka: Ogata Kenichi
Kamidake: Takagi Wataru

production info

Director: Negishi Hiroshi Series Construction: Tsukimura Ryoe Screenplay: Negishi Hiroshi Character Design: Horiuchi Hiroyuki Direction: Moriya Yuji Art Director: Asakura Chitose Sound Director: Honda Yasunori Music: Nagaoka Seikou Executive Producer: Nakamura Naouju

see also: