[ go to homepage ]
[ what's new - editorials, calendar, to-do list, news articles, mailbag and archives ]
[ animé café contest information ]
[ episode-by-episode anime reviews, how we review ]
[ a parent's guide to anime, title list, titles by category ]
[ the anime encyclopædia ]
[ café trivia - anime trivia ]
[ anime humour, the laws of anime, light articles, etc ]
[ serious articles, essays, anime guides, etc. ]
[ message forum for the discussion of anime, manga, reviews, etc. ]
[ faq about the café and contributors, awards given to the café, etc. ]
[ feedback forms, error reports, or e-mail the café ]
[ links to other resources on the internet ]
[ site map ]


[ the anime encyclopædia ]


Tenkuu no Escaflowne

Movie: A Girl in Gaea

© 2000 Sunrise, Bandai Visual
Color / Stereo / 95 minutes / Japanese Language / English Subtitles / English Dub


Kanzaki Hitomi has lost site of what makes life worth living. In her depression, she pays little attention to how her words hurt herself as well as those around her. However, she is not alone in wishing to disappear. Folken, also mirrors her feelings of wanting everything to disappear. And it is the mutual wish of oblivion between Hitomi and Folken that calls Hitomi to the world of Gaea, a world at war, and where two brothers seek the end of one another. Folken overthrew his own country thus denying his younger brother Van the throne. It is the meeting of these three broken souls that awakens the cursed mecha Escaflowne. Which brother will get Escaflowne, and will it lead to the end of the world for Gaea?

cast list

  • Kanzaki Hitomi: Sakamoto Maya
  • Van Fanel: Seki Tomokazu
  • Allen: Miki Shinichirou
  • Millerna:
  • Merle: Otani
  • Dryden:
  • Folken:
  • Nakata
  • Yukari/Solla:
  • Dilandau: Takayama Minami
  • Jajuka:
  • Mogura: Chakaze Hayashi
  • Liden: Inoue
  • Kio/Rumu:
  • Oruto:
  • Teo: Nakashima
  • Pairu:
  • Shester: Yamaguchi Kappei
  • Ryuon: Kawano
  • Nukushi: Matsuyama
  • Young Van:
  • Young Hitomi: Mamiya Kurumi

production info

Original Story: Hajime Yatate, Syouji Kawamori Screenplay: Ryouta Yamaguchi, Kazuki Akane Director: Kazuki Akane Music: Yoko Kanno, Hajime Mizoguchi Character Design and Animation Director: Nobuteru Yuuki Mechanical Design: Kimitoshi Yamane Art Director: Jyunichi Higashi Sound Director: Toshiki Kameyama Director of Photography: Kazuhiro Okeda

English Version Producers: English Version Production Manager: English Version Production Coordinator: English Version Translation:

[ home ] [ what's new ] [ café contest ] [ café reviews ] [ parent's guide ] [ encyclopædia ]
[ café trivia ] [ café latté ] [ café espresso ] [ about the café ] [ feedback ] [ links ] [ site map ]

© 1997-2001. All rights reserved. The Animé Café logo and the Crystal Kyoko award are original creations of the Animé Café. Please do not use any of the materials on this site without the expressed written permission of the Animé Café.

Page last modified 2001.11.13